Screenshot upload preferences ignored [November 2022]

Bug observed: The new update to how screenshots are generated overrides user settings. Despite having photo uploads set to only mine, my save prompt generated 3 screenshots that I did not trigger. Moreover, i could only ignore 2 out of 3 photos, I was forced to upload at least one.

I can’t imagine this is intentional, therefore raising the issue.

3 Likes

I’m having the same bug. Checked my settings and they’re “user photos only,” but photos were uploaded to Strava even though I didn’t take and screenshots.

@Sarah_LaRocque and @_Jordan_P_ZSUNR
Are these screenshots being taken at random times during your session or are they notable moments like when you set a PR, earn a route badge, level up, etc?

Notable moments. Still though, they should NOT be posting.

2 Likes

2.5 years ago… :frowning:

3 Likes

First photo was a “PR” on a sprint I hadn’t done before, the second was random, and the third was badge completion.

Thanks for the additional context. I’ve spit your reports into a dedicated thread. Looks like our notable moments code was bypassing user’s preferences for screenshot upload. We’ll get that fixed.

6 Likes

I normally run Zwift on my Mac desktop, but today I decided to use my iPad for the first time.

I was surprised that the “Image uploading” setting was completely missing in the dialog. I would think that even iPad users would want to have the ability to set it to “Always”, “Only My Shots” or “Never”.

Glad to see that others are having this issue. Hopefully it’s addressed soon, as it’s annoying to have to go into Strava and manually delete the uploaded screenshot after rides.

Same subject; clean copies of screenshots are at the wrong aspect ratio if taken on an ultrawide. You get the full FoV, but it’s squashed into fewer horizontal pixels. The regular shots are fine.

And if you toggle off the HUD to upload the clean version to your feed, it comes out squashed despite being fine on the save preview. Poor.

3 Likes

In Strava go to settings->partner integrations and disable Zwift.

Your rides and all the related data (power, hr, elevation, etc.) and the ride map will still show in Strava but it will stop Zwift from posting extra content, including screenshots.

1 Like

Sort of defeats the purpose. The settings should work properly. If I take a screen shot, I want it uploaded. If I don’t, then nothing should upload. It’s worked that way for years, until an unvetted feature change was introduced.

3 Likes