PLEASE HELP - Bluetooth dropout during ride

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to Zwift having bought a Tacx Flux S smart trainer last month.

One thing I have been having a bit of an issue with is my trainer seeming to disconnect during a ride, and the Watt meter reads (–W).

I am using the Zwift app via my Windows 8 PC, and the Companion app on my Android phone, and connecting the two via bluetooth.

When the issue occurs, the connection sometimes drops out for just a few seconds, but other times for several minutes.

Has anyone else experienced this issue? If so any help or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Stay safe all!

Many thanks.

I’ve had issues with a Win (10 in my case) PC and a Tacx Flux S, both with BT and ANT+. Just to be clear on your setup - are you connecting the trainer directly to your PC over BT? If so, are you using the built-in BT antenna, or a dongle?

Just an FYI, the Zwift Companion App connects to the Zwift App over your local network, not Bluetooth.

Here is a link that could help: BLE and ANT+ Interference Troubleshooting Tips

And this How to Fix ANT+ Dropouts in Zwift | Zwift Insider

1 Like

Hi both,

Thanks for the replies.

Yes I was connected using my network from the Companion app on my phone, to the Zwift app on my PC. I tried again today but it’s doing the same thing.

The internet connection is secure and strong so I really don’t understand the issue.

Both the trainer and the apps are fully updated.

Any idea?

Many thanks

I think you are still confused a little.

The Zwift Companion App on your phone links to the Zwift App on your PC over your local network.

The Bluetooth drops outs have noting to do with your internet connection.

My guess is it’s caused by some sort of interference (fan, other devices, fluorescent lights WiFi channel…).

For a more stable and robust connection I would suggest getting an ANT+ dongle and USB extension.

I would also upgrade that PC to Win10.

2 Likes

buenas