Wahoo Cadence Sensor Disconnects When Not In Use

I’m new to using an indoor trainer, just started this week and it’s been amazing. I’m really loving Zwift!

The only issue I’ve had so far is the Wahoo Cadence Sensor seems to go to sleep when not in use. My current setup is Wahoo Kickr Core, Wahoo Cadence Sensor on the crank arm, Wahoo Tickr, Samsung S8+ running Zwift Companion using bluetooth to sync the sensors to my desktop. I got the Cadence Sensor and Tickr Sensor with my Elemnt Bolt maybe 6 months ago.

Pretty much every time I open Zwift, it takes maybe a full minute for the companion app to find the sensors, this isn’t so bad even though for some reason the Wahoo Utility app finds everything right away. Not a big deal there really. Main issue though is by the time I find the route I want to take I look at the companion app and the Cadence sensor is listed in the Companion app but has a mark next to it that it’s not reading data. This also happened today while I was doing my warm up ride. Everything was working fine and about 3 miles into my warmup my cat literally threw up right in front of my monitor on my desk… Leave Zwift open and running, get off the bike, clean up the barf, sanitize the desk, get back on the bike and everything is working but there’s no recognition from the Cadence sensor at all. Even after I start riding again where you’d think the cadence sensor would ‘wake up’ it still won’t recognize in the Companion App.

Again to be clear, the sensor is still listed in the sensors on the companion app, but it’s like it can’t read data from it anymore once it goes to sleep. I’d estimate it only takes 30 seconds, 60 seconds at the most for it to go to sleep.