Please help - best zwift set up?

I’m quite new to Zwift, and have been using a Microsoft Surface laptop through a (non smart) TV. Since I set it up I’ve been having huge issues with crashing mid-way through a ride.

I’ve googled this and it seems to be an issue with the driver on my laptop with no real fix unless you want to downgrade the driver. I use my laptop for work so I don’t want to do this - I’m also not that techy so the idea of this is a little scary.

So what now? I have a phone (which was horrible to use this evening) and an old iPad - or connect the iPad to the TV via an old fashioned cable (with the non-wide screen view), or do I bite the bullet and buy an Apple TV device? We use Sky to watch TV so don’t need it for the actual TV bit, so seems a little wasteful spending £200 on a box just for Zwift. Or is there a better way to do it?

Any help would be appreciated.

The easiest and lowest cost is the ATV but that has issues (remote, mediocre graphics, etc). I think the generation prior to the 4K is compatible (I THINK) and you might find a used one for even less.

The best quality experience is a PC desktop with a reasonable graphic card but that increases the budget significantly. Guides are on Facebook: ZPCMR - Zwift PC Masters & Riders. Join the group.

PC laptops work well but cost more than desktops for comparable performance. I really have no idea about Apple minis and laptops.

Personally I use a laptop with i7-10750H & 1660Ti (Lenovo Legion 5) and output to a nice 1900x1200 monitor (older resolution but still a great image) and it works pretty well.

What model of iPad? If you need help identifying it, refer to this page: Identify your iPad model - Apple Support

Download Zwift to the iPad and try it. If it’s working, check this out: Tacx Bracket for Tablets | Handlebar Attachment | Garmin

I added a phone tray to mine so I can have a tablet and the Companion app together: Phone tray add-on for Tacx Tablet Bracket