Is there any way to reach more than 400 Watts with a supported classic trainer?

Fellow Zwifters,

I’m new to Zwift and currently using it with one of the supported classic trainers (a TacX BlueMotion).

According to the setup instructions I have to manually configure my trainer to difficulty “3” which is really pretty low. When riding with Zwift, the maximum estimated power is around 400 Watts. To reach this, I have to pedal a whopping 135rpm which I find pretty insane. Reaching a higher power output ist pretty much impossible.

So my question is: is there any way to reach a higher estimated power output with a classic trainer?

An obvious solution would be to set the classic trainer to a higher, more difficult setting but as far as I see it, Zwift does not support that.

(Yeah, I know: Buying a SMART trainer would solve this problem but this is (currently) not an issue for me)

What gear are you doing 135rpm in? I got well above that with much lower rpm

2 Likes

Highest gear.

Like I said, resistance setting “3” on the TacX is next to nothing, almost similar to rolling downhill. If I’d pedal like that in real-life I’d be going above 60 kph easily.

That’s the whole problem here I guess: suggested trainer resistance is far too low. As a result, pedalling is way too easy, cadence far too high even if in highest gear.

But the set up you are running off is based on a spedometer? So I suspect the problem is with your trainer.

suspect your bicycle isnt sitting on the rollers correctly and your free wheeling because you arent fully on the rollers

1 Like

The trainer can not be the problem. The point is, that even if I pedal at peak speed (135rpm cadence, >70kph wheel speed), Zwift does not display more that ~400 Watts.

2 Likes

Not true considering I have achieved higher so there is no limit unless recently introduced

My time here is done

Found the answer after asking big brother google.

There is an artifical 400W capping on trainers which do not report power.