Effort on downhills Saris H3

Zwift newbie here and I have a question about downhills. I searched the forum but didn’t quite find an answer. Apologies if my search skills failed me.

On a recent downhill of -8%, I had to put out quite a bit of power to turn the pedals (like 125% of FTP). I expected there to be no resistance at all (or just a tiny bit?).

Is this expected? Thanks in advance for tips.

Hi @Seth_Mason7326, welcome to the forums.

No you shouldn’t have that much resistance on a downhill. What is your setup, trainer, device, etc… were you doing a free ride or a workout in ERG mode?

Hi @Mike_Rowe_PBR. Thanks for the reply.

I have a Saris H3 (with latest firmware) with Zwift running on an AppleTV. Was doing a group ride this morning when I found myself standing to pedal on the downhill.

@Gerrie_Delport has a H3 too, maybe he has an idea why this happened. Looks like you were doing a ToW stage heading down the volcano, is this when it happened?

Yeah, if you look at my power file, you can see the huge jump in power when I was on the other side of the climb.

Trust me, I didn’t want to put out that much power at that point in time.

Few things,

Are you pairing as ANT+ Fe-C for both controller and Powersource.

Set your trainer difficulty to 50%.

He is on ATV so only bluetooth available

Good point Mike,

O not, i missed that, no FE-C on Bluetooth. So Ignore that one.

I was on my bike when writing that. :sunglasses:

I’m on a Saris H3 on Android now and started having the same problem after the update. App does not control the trainer at all. Everything is connected in blue at start up.

1 Like