Hi Zwifters,
Starting with Zwift game version 1.121, we’re making it quicker to get moving - less time pairing, more time riding or running!
After your initial device setup, Background Pairing will be enabled by default. When your setup is eligible, Zwift will take you directly to the Home screen while reconnecting your saved devices in the background. If you prefer the classic pairing experience, you can disable Background Pairing at any time.
This is especially helpful for Zwifters with a simple, consistent setup who use the same trainer or running hardware for each session.
When will Zwift skip the Pairing screen?
Background Pairing works with both cycling and running hardware. Zwift may skip the Pairing screen when Background Pairing is enabled and:
-
Cycling was your last selected sport and you have a saved Power Source or Speed Sensor.
-
Running was your last selected sport and you have a saved Run Speed device.
*Few exceptions apply. See our support article for more information.
Check your connections from the Home screen
While Zwift searches for your saved devices, a notification will appear in the lower-right corner of the Home screen will show your connection progress.



If Zwift doesn’t find every saved device during the initial connection period, you’ll see a notification letting you know some equipment was not found. Zwift will continue searching in the background, so make sure your devices are powered on, awake, and ready to connect.

If you try to begin an activity before all your devices have connected, Zwift will let you know and give you the option to review your setup.
Select the connection notification using a mouse or touchscreen to open the Pairing screen. The notification can’t be selected using Zwift controllers or a TV remote, so use the Pairing icon instead.
We’ll begin removing devices from your saved device history if they haven’t been used for your past three rides.
Open the Pairing screen at any time
A new Pairing icon is available in the navigation bar at the top of the Home screen. Select it whenever you want to check your connections, pair a different device, switch setups, or troubleshoot a device.
Manage Your Pairing Options
The Paired Devices screen now includes a Pairing Options menu with two settings:
-
Enable Background Pairing: Automatically reconnects your saved devices and allows Zwift to skip the Pairing screen when your setup is eligible.
-
Enable Companion Bridging: Allows you to use the Zwift Companion app as your connection method. Learn more in Using the Zwift Companion App as a Bridge.
For additional details, check out this article in Zwift.




