Apple TV 4K App - Can't Join or Auto-Start Event

I’m new to Zwift and searched the forums, etc and can’t find this issue. I have the app installed on a new Apple TV 4K running the most current OS. I installed the Zwift app and logged in. I’ve tried twice to join an event, where it says “Going” checked and the level selected. However, It won’t auto-join me or let me select the event to join. It just sits at the Dashboard and never connects to an Event. I can free ride and all that, but events are elusive. I connect via a KICKR and all the setup options for connectivity to sensors works fine. Anyone know the resolution for this? I’ve rebooted the Apple TV as well.

On the ATV, after you select an event that is less than 30 minutes from starting (and even if you selected the event from the Companion app), and you see the orange ‘Going’ notification next to the event, just proceed into Zwift as though you are going to do a free ride. (You don’t need to bother with world or course selection.). Once you are ‘in game’ you should see a ‘Join Event’ selection button in the lower left corner or the screen which you can select with the remote. Alternately, you should also receive a notification in the Companion app if you have it running. Once you select the ‘Join Event’ button you will be transported to the start line of your event. It is best to get this done at least 5 minutes before the start.

Thanks. This definitely makes it work. To me this is not intuitive to join and event and I’m pretty techie. I just kept going “WTF…How do I join the dang event?”

2 Likes

I would agree. It took me some trial and error to figure it out when I first started with Zwift.I had thought that I would join immediately when selecting from the list in the upper right. Instead I was just selecting and deselecting the event. I can’t remember how I finally figured it out, but it may well have been by asking the same question on this forum.