zPower adjustment slider

we know that even the same model trainer can have differences in resistance. I propose there should be an adjustment to account for this. We should be able to adjust zPower by steps (+3, +2, +1, 0, -1, -2, -3) kind of like exposure adjustment on a camera. Or have some kind of power adjustment number we can enter (eg. -20W)

For my personal experience, I feel like my zPower is too high. I go too fast in the game when compared to my data in real life. I get around the problem by increasing my in game weight, but this is a very crude work around. I would like to be able to subtract a certain value from my zPower to adjust for the variance between Zwifts power values for my trainer (Blackburn Tech Fluid), and my actual trainer.

Another use case for such a feature is that you could use the adjustment to handicap yourself when riding with a friend who is an absolute beginner. So instead of having to ride slowly with a friend like in real life, you could simply slow yourself down virtually so they can keep up. 

OBVIOUSLY there would be concerns with cheating if people add zPower instead of subtract. Perhaps we could allow only downward adjustments to zPower

1 Like

It sounds like you’re not using the trainer that you’re selecting from the trainer select menu, correct?

zPower is calculated based on specific variables, including the resistance unit. If you’re using a trainer with a different resistance unit, you’re not going to get accurate numbers. You can’t choose a trainer that’s “close” to your actual trainer and expect accurate values. It’s apples and oranges.

In this case, you should use the “Not Listed” trainer option or consider a power meter/smart trainer if you’re looking for more accurate values. If you’re using a trainer that’s not supported, you can also submit a support ticket and request that we add it. There’s no guarantee that we will, but it helps us gauge demand and prioritize adding new trainers accordingly.

Hi Jason,