Wahoo Kickr Bike / Climb doesn't tilt [SOLVED]

I just purchased a Wahoo Kickr smart bike and set it up according to the provided instructions (updated the firmware etc…). I noticed while riding in Zwift the bike does not tilt when I go up/down hills. I am new to Zwift and don’t know what to do.

I have only gone up/down hills with a +/-2 gradient and stopped when I noticed the bike wasn’t tilting. I confirmed the bike was not tilting by using the Wahoo Utility android app where it displays the current gradient of the bike.

The smart bike is in the “unlocked” mode and can be tilt manually via the buttons. The trainer difficulty is also set to 50% in Zwift for what it’s worth.

What am I doing wrong?

5 Likes

Hi @John_Picchi welcome to Zwift forums.
Are you getting through the pairing process ok with the trainer? There’s some step by step on our support hub.

EDIT: Sorry, you’re on the Wahoo BIKE, not the Climb unit. Same answer below applies to the Climb unit, however.

What device & operating system are you running the Zwift app on?

@shooj I am running Zwift on Windows 10

@John_Picchi
Being at Zwift HQ, I can see the session logs from your rides on our server. It looks like the most recent session was in the Zwift Cycling 101 workout plan, is that right? That happens to be a great introduction to structured workouts, introduces what Functional Threshold Power is, and why determining your FTP is super important. Stick with that plan! Day 3 is a mini ramp test that will determine your FTP number.

This also explains why the bike isn’t tilting. Another important feature of Workouts is ERG mode. In ERG mode, your resistance will not change as you climb / descend hills. Instead, ERG mode is training you to hit a wattage target and maintain it for X minutes. The idea is that you’ll being to understand where your power threshold is, and how long you can maintain a certain power output.