Turbo trainer to Zwift

Hi Complete newbie here

I’ve just got a basic turbo trainer and want this to connect with zwift. I have a Garmin 520 edge which has speed and cadence sensors.

My question is, being rubbish technically, how can I get this up and running on zwift.

do I need ant+, will zwift connect to my garmin sensors etc.

any help appreciated. Thanks guys.

You will need to pair your speed and cadence sensors to Zwift on the pairing screen. If you have a power meter, then you will only need the cadence sensor. Speed sensor will be unnecessary once you pair the power meter.

What platform are you using for Zwift (e.g., Mac, PC, iPhone, etc…)? The platform and sensor capabilities will determine if you use Bluetooth or ANT+.

Hi. Thanks for your reply.

I will use iphone. I do have PC as well as Smart TV but iphone for simplicity. I take it that will be it once i pair zwift app to sensors?

I assume i just ride a little to get the sensors noticeable?

If you’re using the iPhone, you will need sensors that do Bluetooth. The iPhone does not do ANT+.

Enable Bluetooth on your iPhone, then start up the Zwift app, when you get to the pairing screen you should be able to pair the sensors. If you don’t see them, you can try riding to get them active (??). But you will need to make sure they do Bluetooth. Otherwise, you will never see them and thus be unable to pair them.

Just an FYI, you cannot connect the Garmin 520 to Zwift in any way.

Ah so i cant pair my iphone to the garmin sensors?

If thats the case then can i pair the garmin sensors to a laptop easily?

Other option would be to get cadence/speed sensors which have bluetooth but i think i’d prefer to not buy more sensors

The Garmin 520 itself does not have speed or cadence sensors. It can use GPS for speed or it can connect to a speed sensor. Likewise, the 520 can connect to a cadence sensor as well. Lastly, the 520 only supports ANT+ sensors.