Speed of other riders

I’m pretty new to swift, but I’ve noticed something that is, to me, inexplicable. Today, for instance, I cycled the Ride to Sky route. While climbing Alpe Du Zwift I was passed by several riders who were easily going more than 10 times my pace. I’m not particularly speedy, and I’d say sometimes I was crawling at 4 MPH. But a few other riders were moving at a 40 MPH pace, and maybe faster! Is there some glitch that just gives the impression that other riders have rocket speed? Is there some other explanation?

Small group “meetups” still getting turbo speed on their rubberbanded rides?

Could also be plain cheating, but also possibly a glitch on the user’s trainer or just very badly configured. Or some sort of other software glitch.

You can flag riders like this as a “flier” via Zwift Companion for Zwift to look at.

1 Like

I think even at 2000w they wouldn’t be going that fast. 2000w pace solo is around 65kph on a flat.

I had thought maybe a keep together meetup, but if it’s a rider alone doing impossible speed then maybe trainer fault.

I know there are some quick riders on there, but you can pick the dodgy efforts because their power often remains exactly the same with no dips/peaks that we would expect when you change gears or negotiate changing gradients.

Is there an easy way to report those riders (with insane speeds or w/kg numbers) to you guys and girls from Zwift? If not I would seriously consider this option as it takes the fun out of riding on Zwift (at least for me).

Yep, follow this: Reporting Another Zwifter

1 Like

I would caution to observe the rider for a while before reporting, that you can do using companion app.

You’ll be able to pick the ones who are fast for real versus those who aren’t genuine.

I want to thank everyone who commented on my question.