Please help my dad with his first Zwift Experience

Hello everyone! Greetings from Sweden! This is my first time on the Zwift forum and I would really appreciate your help. First of all, sorry if my English isn’t the best but I hope you will understand my questions.

I bought my dad a trainer after he had an accident. I thought this would cheer him up because he absolutely loves cycling and he had never heard of Zwift before, let alone knew you could be cycling in a virtual world with the whole world online. :slight_smile:

I bought him an Elite Aleno Smart trainer. I knew that this trainer didn’t have automatic resistance but those are really expensive. Anyway, we got the trainer to work with my android phone via Bluetooth and we have set up my old TV and a Chromecast and it seems to work great. He has an older phone that doesn’t support Zwift so now we must figure out how he can ride with Zwift alone (and not only when I am there visiting).

So, to my questions. They have a computer that I think would run Zwift pretty well and I’ve tried to learn about ANT¨+. This trainer supports that but I am curious which one I need? It seems to be a lot of variaties to buy and also, is it the only thing he needs? I’ve also heard of a speed sensor but isn’t that what an ANT+ provides? Power and Speed?

I wish one day to get him an automatic trainer that can sense the hills and everything but for now, we must get this to work so he can exercise. Thanks for all the help! PS: He absolutely loved Zwift and think this is the best thing ever! :slight_smile:

Hi @Jonathan_Wictoren

Welcome to the forum. Good for you to get your dad on zwift, it is so much fun.

I don’t have that trainer but looking at the pictures it has ANT+ and Bluetooth.

For the PC you will need a ANT+ dongle or a Bluetooth dongle. I would suggest getting a USB extension so that you can get the dongle close to the trainer. I prefer Ant+.

I don’t think you need anything else.