Opinion poll: tacx vortex smart or elite qubo digital smart b+?

Hi all,

I’m on a budget and looking to enter the world of smart trainers to experience Zwift with resistance feedback and better power stats etc.

These are both priced around the same but wanted to get any user feedback on practical use of the trainers with pros and cons etc.

Any feedback and advice would be great as I try and make a decision!

Hi have exactly the same question!

I have just bought the Tacx Vortex, and I am very impressed. Sturdy base and easy setup.

I had the same question as you, but went for the Tacx after seeing a friend’s trainer, and reading on Zwiftblog that it is the best budget smart trainer (obviously, a personal opinion, but you are asking for opinions)

I have no experience with the Elite Qubo, so cannot offer any comparisons. I have both a Kickr and a Tacx Vortex (in two different places).

In general, I’ve been happy with the Vortex. It works well with Zwift, easily and quickly responding to grade changes, etc.; however, it’s no match for the Kickr. The primary difference (other than the obvious wheel-off design of the Kickr) is that the Kickr has a true strain gauge power meter that is consistent and accurate to with in a couple percent compared the Quarq power meter on my bike.

The Vortex is different in that it calculates and transmits power based upon it’s known internal resistance curves and wheel speed. In essence, it is doing internally pretty much what Zwift is doing online to calculate power with a standard “dumb” trainer. 

The power readings are very dependent upon tire pressure, temperature, trainer roller pressure against the tire, etc. I can fiddle with roller pressure, etc. to get it to eventually come close to the Quarq on the bike, but a good warm up to bring the trainer and tire up to temperature is necessary before the data starts to settle in.