New to Zwift - clueless please help

Hi :wave:
I’m new to Zwift, and cycling really for that matter, and have an Elite Novo Smart Trainer.
I’m a 29 year old female, a little overweight (okay a lot) at 107kg. And wanted to get into cycling. I did some cycling on a road bike a few years ago and suffered a crash which knocked my confidence to go on the bike outside again.
So I thought I would give Zwift a go!

But I’m clueless… I set up my trainer and bike. My watts was 13 for a while and I thought my trainer wasn’t set up properly but then after trying again I got it up to about 45-50. Is this normal to be low? I’m not as active as I used to be when I was younger but aiming to get active again.

Also the FTP is set at 0, is this correct? Or do I do the FTP test I’ve read about on other forums? Or the FTP course? - it’s a lot and I’m finding this whole process a little bit overwhelming but I want to make this Zwift journey work!

Any help would be so appreciated! Thank you!

That Wattage does sound low. Wheel-on trainers require careful adjustment and attention to tire pressure, as well as frequent calibration. For the best accuracy you’ll need to install a trainer tire, make sure the tension is adjusted and tire inflated according to the manual, and do the calibration in the Elite app before riding. If you use Facebook you might find some kindred spirits in the Zwift Beginners group.

1 Like

Regarding the FTP setting, I think it will update automatically after a few rides, or you can do a ramp test. FTP really only matters if you’re doing a workout, though, as the zones are based on a percentage of FTP.

Good luck on your journey, and please be sure to come back to the Forum with any other questions you have.

Paul’s advice is good.

I’d also recommend getting involved with a cycling club, some of them have beginner groups to help people gain confidence on the bike. You also merry some cool people.

Best wishes and good luck!

Hi Paul