New to FTP Testing

Hi guys,

So I’m new to Zwift(using Wattbike Atom) and have been using it for a couple of months. Mainly I just pick a workout or a route and ride for general exercise. I decided I want to be more specific in my training and wanted to sign up to a plan, so I thought I would do an FTP test. After 40 minutes of the ramp warm up I finally got to the twenty minutes test. I was using ERG mode and that was fine for the ramp warm up, the resistance increased when required. When I got to the test portion though, I found there was little resistance on the bike and when I tried to increase my effort to up my power, i just ended up spiking power output for a second or two and my cadence would increasing but my power would drop back to 125-135 which is light effort.

I have FTP test on the wattbike app and it was more receptive to your effort i.e if you tried to go push hard it gave resistance

When riding on a route on Zwift I usually just increase the gears manually to manage my power/speed, but with the Zwift FTP I couldn’t up the gears. I tried turning off ERG mode during the test but I still couldn’t control the gears.

What I’m asking really is, am I doing something wrong? When I increase my effort I end up with high cadence but low power, and I know that’s not the point of the FTP. Any senior cycles that can
give me guidance?

Hi @mark_O_Neill1

Welcome to the forums.

I don’t have a Watt bike but I assume it work like a smart trainer. Once you get the the 20min FTP block your ERG will turn off and you have to increase the resistance using the incline buttons on the Companion app or the onscreen menu (or the ± keys on the KB)

I would suggest testing this by skipping past most of the FTP test to the block before the test and see if this work before attempting a full FTP test.

Not using a Apple TV device by any chance?

There is an issue with erg being disengaged by the atom when it comes to free ride.