Many Problems... Help

New Zwift user here. About to give up on Zwift entirely…

Gear:
Tacx Neo 2T with latest firmware installed.
Zwift trial version running on iPad Pro iOS 13
Recumbent bike (old broken people ride bikes, too, dammit…)
Bike has Garmin cadence sensor installed.
Located in basement. No other devices (TV’s, other BT signals) running.

I work in the bike industry (mechanic/sales at independent LBS). I bought this stuff for my wife to ride so she could improve her fitness over the winter and we could do longer faster rides in the spring. She is not tech-savvy and I was hoping that Zwift would be the best solution. So far, that hasn’t been the case.

On startup, Zwift shows Tacx paired as controllable and power and Garrmin sensor paired as cadence. Starting a ride, the avatar either doesn’t move or moves extremely slowly. Cadence is displayed and seems appropriate. Speed is initially displayed but then drops to 0-3 mph after a couple minutes. Tacx utility shows all sensors and returns data that seems accurate. I’ve done all of the paring/unpairing/power cycling things but none have corrected the issue.

This is monstrously frustrating for her and she gives up. The game-like aspect of Zwift is one of the things I hoped would let her have enough fun to keep at it. So far, its actually made things worse for her. And me…

I submitted an email to Zwift support about this yesterday, but have not heard back yet. I really want this to work for us (and the customers we serve at the shop). Looking at this from a consumer standpoint, it just shouldn’t be this difficult…

Hello and welcome to the Zwift Forums!

I believe the Tacx Neo 2 has a built in cadence sensor, have you tried disabling the Garmin sensor?

1 Like