I have no idea what I'm doing wrong... Joining an Event

Hi all, I’m pretty new to Zwift!

I saw the new Neokyo Badge Hunting series and related unlockable kit, shoes, and helmet and thought it was time to give myself a fun challenge. I did 3/4 of the routes solo before I realized that I have to join the group events in order to unlock the gear (although the instructions definitely make it sound like solo still unlocks the gear). I signed up for two of the Neokyo badge hunting events today and got excited again! “I’ve never done an event so it’ll be fun!” I thought.

A few minutes before the event began today at 12:00pm PST I got ready and got on my bike. On the game screen where you choose your route it showed me “going” to the Neokyo event in the top right with a green check mark, but nothing was happening. I tried clicking this event on that screen but it did nothing. With about a minute left to go before the event I manually selected the same route as the event - “Sleepless City” - and loaded into the game, thinking maybe I have to be in the game first?

Upon the game loading, I immediately saw a popup on the bottom of my screen to join an event and I clicked “Join now” instead of waiting for the auto-count-down to finish. Happy I figured it out, I waited for my screen to load again. I was then taken to what appeared like a different event? It was some Watopia 3w/kg ride that I never added to my profile or joined through the ZC app. I wanted to complete the Sleepless City one and was definitely “going” to it. I rode for a few minutes before realizing this isn’t what I wanted to do and I couldn’t keep up with these guys. Dejected, I turned off my bike and decided to go back to work lol.

I’ve googled “how to join a zwift” event and it looks like I did everything right, so I have no idea what I’m missing. I’m trying this again in a few hours but I also don’t want to repeat the same mistake - any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!