Help: No XP (or very little) awarded for successful workouts

Hello! I’m new to Zwift. Riding a StagesBike SB20 and using Zwift mostly on an iPad Pro (2018) with Zwift Companion running on a Pixel 4 XL. All software is verified up to date.

Nearly all my rides are workouts on ERG mode. But I’m getting no XP (or very little) during my workouts. I understand workout XP is awarded on some secret recipe of time and stars, but the Zwift Insider’s “XP in Workouts” article estimates you’ll get a full star if your power is within ~12% of the target. And I can’t believe I’m anywhere near that far off target, in ERG mode and at high Zone 2 (endurance) power.

Annoyingly, neither stars nor XP earned on a workout show on the activity feed. But although this seems to happen on most workouts, I can provide at least one crystal-clear example: on Nov/21, I completed a workout titled “Endurance 150W (Royal Pump Room 8)”. There is a 90-minute interval at 150W (roughly 70% of FTP) in that workout, which I completed well (IMHO) and I got exactly 167XP for it instead of ~900XP. Why?

My power was a little choppier after ~72 minutes and I stopped three times to adjust my clothing and position (still quite new at the whole cycling thing). But Training Peaks shows average power of 150W and normalized power of 151W and the graph (though the forum won’t let me post it) looks pretty good to me!

I can’t imagine these blips are so heinous as to make Zwift decide that I failed the interval. I’m really frustrated. Can someone help me figure out what’s going on? I’m losing nearly all of my XP… roughly 700-800 XP on this ride alone and probably 80% or more of what I’ve earned.

Any thoughts/advice appreciated. Thanks in advance.

hi Rodolfo,