Garmin - Stava and Zwift

Hello,

I am new to all three and I’m really confused how to get the best out of connecting all three.

I would like to know how you manage your data to avoid double counting one run as two events!

I would like my real time Garmin data to be saved to be analysed to help me assess my improvement and stay motivated.

I also like to save my virtual runs on Zwift. I am new to Zwift so on my first run yesterday I ended up with my garmin watch logging a run and Zwift logging the same run.

The result is my garmin thinks I did 2 x runs from double accounting. Whereas strava also thought I did 2 runs.

How do you link all three together so you only get one run?

(Also - which is best apps/widgets for analysing run data?)

any advice very welcome.

sallyanne

I am in the same position and - to be honest - I just gave up, as I don’t think there is a good solution. You just need to disable one of them and ensure you have a master version only.

My set-up is that both Zwift and Garmin write to Strava, but I manually delete the Garmin equivalent activitity that gets linked. That way, I can get all my analysis in Garmin, but I use Strava as the training log of miles done and calories burned.

I find Garmin the most powerful in terms of analysis functionality; I pay for premium on Strava but barely check it - it’s just not very useful.

I’ve never found an appropriate compromise, to be honest. If you have Garmin writing to Strava then you end up double-counting from Zwift, which is a pain. However, I do use my Forerunner 235 in sync with my Garmin HRM dual chest strap (which is linked to Zwift) and I’m finding that Zwift over-estimates my calories by around 15% compared to Garmin.

I posted a question about this previously and nobody answered.