First FTP ever 300 watts, reliable?

Hi Folk,

I just started Zwifting an I love it. Today i did my first FTP test and I hit 299 watts on average for the 20minute duration. just for sanity sake I would like to ask you guys some things to test whether my smart trainer is reliable, due to the fact that this number seems a bit high to me.

Details:

• Smart Trainer: Tacx vortex
  • Length: 193cm tall (6"3)
  • Weight: 95kg (210lbs)
  • Experience: Been Cycling for a year now; Mostly active for 2-3 weeks and than I stop cycling for about 2 months.
  • Distance Cycled 2021: 431km
  • I did calibrate the Tacx and tires are pumped up till 8 bars.
  • Fitness: I haven’t been very active during the lockdown … :slight_smile:.

Is 300 watts reasonable for someone with minimum cycling experience but rather high weight/length ? Any advice is appreciated since I have never worked with watts before and I would like to know what is reasonable.

Thanks in advance!

It’s possible it is inflated it’s also possible it’s accurate. Take your watts (299) and divide them by your weight (in kg). Here is a chart of average FTPs by duration that may help determine if your number is reasonable

your FTP is 95% of the 20 min. so 299*0.95 = 284w FTP.
That will give you 284/92 = 3.1 w/kg FTP.

It may be high or correct, you may just be that gifted, we won’t know.

If your trainer is consistent then you can use that number for training and track your progress.

It’s certainly not unreasonable for a healthy and fit young person to put out the levels of power that you report.

Given your weight (95kg), an FTP of 299 gives you a power/weight ratio of about 3.14 w/Kg. For reference, that would put you towards the top of Cat C cyclists. (Cat A riders are generally 4 w/kg or greater.)