Elite Novo Smart not working!

Hi all,

I am very new to Zwift and literally only started using it last week or so. Every single time I have used it I have a mountain of issues which is quite frankly driving me insane to the point of where I am considering just sacking it all off and selling everything. I have already raised it with Zwift support but wondering if anyone else has any suggestions?

I am using my mountain bike fitted onto the Elite Novo Smart. The main issues I am having are:

• No resistance changes up hill - it is super easy to pedal
  • Watt changes aren’t always accurate. I can stop pedalling or slow down significantly and it will still say I am pedalling at the same power
  • Sometimes the resistance will randomly change out of nowhere where it is almost impossible to pedal and I have to use that much force to pedal it feels like the tyre is slipping on the trainer - My tyre is inflated to the correct pressure and is not too loose or too tight on the trainer.
    *Cadence sensor is completely inaccurate. It will one second say I am doing like 23 rpm at 40 watts, and to achieve the 85rpm it wants I am pedalling like absolutely crazy and my feet are slipping off the pedals it is that fast.

It is a second hand trainer but was looked after well by a huge cyclist enthusiast, I have calibrated the trainer on the elite app, the resistance changes work perfectly on that. I have tried purchasing an ANT+ dongle and running it off my PC today on Windows 11( I have the correct drivers installed) still not working.

I have tried it with and without zwift companion connected, with or without bluetooth.

I’m at my wits end and I just don’t understand what I can do to get it working!

Thank you so much

Hi @Zoe_King

Welcome to the forum.

Few things:
Are you using a smooth trainer tire?
Do you connect as power source and controllable?
Are you sure the trainer is not paired to another device or internal to the PC?

1 Like

Hi Gerrie,

Thank you for your reply!