Complete newbie questions

Hi folks. I just set up my trial membership, and just got a nice new CycleOps Powersync ANT+ trainer and dongle.

My questions are mostly around the interaction between the trainer and Zwift…

Before trying this out, I expected the trainer to simulate hills in the following way:

1. When incline increased, pedaling effort would increase

2. Using my ANT+ cadence sensor, and therefore understanding my wheel speed and cadence, when incline increases, and pedaling effort increases, I would change gears on my bike to compensate

3. After changing gears to a lower gear on an include, the wheel speed would reflect the “actual” cadence, but slower wheel speed due to the lower gearing

What I’m seeing feels different than that. If feels like the following

a) I approach incline, effort feels the same

b) Wheel speed drops with same effort, bike shows climbing at 1mph

c) My cadence seems to be closely tied to the watt output that is my goal for a particular segment

d) doesn’t seem to matter what gear I’m in, it seems that Zwift is automatically “shifting” for me by adjusting the resistance… I think?

e) I noticed after I stepped off for a sec to take a phone call - when I got back on, it said “reactivating ERG”.

What is ERG mode?

How can I make it more accurately simulate what happens when I climb a hill?

I would like to shift like I do IRL, and that includes hills that I just can’t handle, where my cadence has to drop to 50 RPM just to maintain 4-5 mph. I would really like to “conquer” those hills, so IRL when I start riding outside again, I’m stronger. I also want to evaluate the gearing on my bike, and simulating what really happens on a hill might help me to do that.

Thanks

-Glenn

Hi Glenn -