Confused about ERG mode, candence, and effort

I am new to the Zwift community and have started doing the 4 week FTP booster training program, which always uses ERG mode. I’m not sure I’m “using” it right, and am having a few problems. I understand the trainer is supposed to change resistance for me and I’m not supposed to change gears.

No matter what, I can never seem to keep the cadence that Zwift wants. On my screen is a constant “spin faster” or “spin slower”.

In sprint efforts, I don’t see how it’s possible to generate the power Zwift wants while keeping cadence roughly the same. For example, if I have to try and put down 500w at 100rpm for 30 seconds, I’m finding it impossible. I can only generate that much power if I am spinning at 120-150rpm (basically as fast as I can possibly go) and still am coming up short in power. The “spin slower” alert flashes the whole time.

I can change gears and get up to power easily, but then my cadence is too low and I get a “spin faster” alert. If I spin faster and use more effort, then my power is way too high and I get a “reduce power” alert.

Is there a way to do this better? I’m finding I’m getting exhausted just chasing the cadence numbers and it is an annoying distraction. I have an older style triple chainring up front and I typically start my workout with it in the middle and halfway through my gears in the rear just so the chainline is roughly straight. Should I be starting in my big chainring instead?

(Cycleops Magnus trainer, FYI.)

Gear doesn’t really matter. Use big ring with smaller rear cog combo that provides a straight chain to minimize wear.

Be sure your FTP is set correctly in the UI.

See:

ERG Mode

Are you doing a calibration before each ride?

When you pair your trainer to Zwift, are you pairing it as both the power and controllable trainer? While both are important, the latter is necessary if you want ERG mode to work as expected.