ERG Mode and shifting

I created this under tips and troubleshooting this morning, but thought I’d throw it into the general discussion as well.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks

I’ve been using ERG mode on my Kickr for about eight months.  I started with 50x14 gearing, but about a month ago realized the I was having trouble maintaining 80rpm on flats and steep gradients (above 10%) were pushing my consistent watts above 350 just to keep the cranks turning.  Not sure if this was due to automatic power increases by Zwift as I became more fit?  I’ve recently upshifted to 50x15 and seem to have found a happy medium. 

That being said, I tried Alpe du Zwift for the first time yesterday and really struggled on the early sections.  I shifted up to 50x17 and was able to handle the climb.  I averaged around 260w versus the 340+ in the harder gear.  Is this cheating?

I’m 51 and a large rider - 6’5" @ 225lbs.  I want to work hard to continue to improve but don’t want to injure myself by pushing super heavy gears at low rpm.  Would appreciate any advice.  Thanks

Hi Michael, 

I’m a bit confused by your post.

When you’re in ERG mode, there are no ‘hills’. That is - In Zwift, ERG applies only to ‘workouts’ where the resistance that you feel being applied to your Kickr is a function of your cadence and the power target, in Watts, for a given workout interval.  The faster you spin, the less resistance you’ll feel for a given wattage.  On the other hand, if watts remain the same but you turn the cranks at 60 rpm? It will feel ‘harder’ even though your power output is unchanged.