ERG issues

Hi, I am new to Zwift 11 hours in. I’m having some issues around ERG mode in training.

I use a Wahoo snap and always perform a spin down before a session and it is correctly calibrated. I check that ERG is ON when on training rides. I also have a wahoo cadence sensor.

I tend to struggle to feel any difference at all in the resistance when being asked to perform a high wattage. I have experimented and tried to ride at a lower cadence when I should feel the resistance kick in but I don’t seem to notice a change.

I also tend to struggle when being asked to perform low wattage rides at a higher cadence.

I’m at the right cadence but the power is still high. I would have to really reduce my cadence to get to the power asked for.

Another example - ZWIFT is asking for 116 watts at 90rmp. I meet the cadence but my watts are 130, the power doesn’t go down.

From what I understand is that ERG means I only worry about cadence and ERG should do the rest? For example for power of 90 watts in a warm up, I’d probably be doing 60rpm? But Zwift is asking for 85 which makes me produce too many watts.

I stick to the same gear, I would expect ERG to kick in and effect the watts?

The resistance part of the trainer seems to work fine, as on free rides I definitely feel when you are going up and down hill.

Any thoughts are solutions would be great. I am a noob!

Hey There, I had a lot of issues around this as well. Some things to check:

1. Move to an easier gear. I found my trainer has a minimum resistance and if you’re gear ratio is too high it just can’t adjust down
  2. How frequent are your wattage changes? I found that Zwift can take up to a minute, but usually 30 seconds or so to adjust to the new required power.
  3. Stay in the same gear

make sure your firmware is up-to-date on the snap. i have a snap2017, and it had some erg issues before one of the firmware updates (though i can’t remember which one).