Apple TV Setup Wizard

Getting Zwift running on an Apple TV is challenging, as evidenced by discussions on this forum. After a month of research and frustration I finally have a process that successfully gets my Snap trainer, cadence sensor, and heart rate monitor to connect. And, using my printed instructions (taped up in the cave) my wife was able to get her bike going today alone, with both cadence and heart rate working.

I am a professional computer geek; not every Zwift user has the skill or patience to figure it out. Since some of the challenges are not under Zwift’s control I recommend some kind of wizard to walk people through the setup process to make it easy.

Would you share your instructions so that others can get up and running.

2 Likes

I’d be interested in knowing what challenges you are facing. I run Zwift on ATV, with a Tacx Neo and Garmin Dual HRM, and found it to be a very quick set up with no issues.

1 Like

If you add a third device, like a cadence sensor, then the ATV can’t connect it since it it limited to three Bluetooth connections and the remote counts as 1 (power trainer is 2 and HRM is 3). You have to then use the Companion app on another device to feed the thrud sensor and it acts wonky to connect often.

Here are the tricks I have figured out so far, all thanks to postings on the forums.

AIRPLANE MODE SEEMS TO BE THE SECRET SAUCE HERE.

1. Click the Menu button on the ATV controller to turn on the ATV
  2. Put phone into Airplane Mode
  3. Start Zwift Companion on phone and make sure it is visible.
  4. On ATV click on user which should take you to Paired Devices
  5. If just the two orange boxes, click on the Power Source box and select KICKR SNAP
  6. Ride slowly to activate Snap and cadence sensor.
  7. If Heart Rate and Cadence boxes both are blue and show data, you are done.
  8. Otherwise, click on the box that is orange or not showing data and select the sensor

When you are done, remember to take phone out of Airplane Mode!