Zwift keeps pushing me to walk / run faster

Hi,

I am new to Zwift and I have just started using the Run Pod and started using the Zwift app.

I am a 74 year old male diabetic and I have been advised to walk for 30 minutes per day, at a brisk walk. Zwift lets me do that but I have two problems:

1. The app keeps telling me I am running when I am walking (at 5Kph).
  2. It keeps telling me to speed up.

Is there any way I can use Zwift to make my 30-minute walks pleasant but without pushing me so much?

Thanks,
Andrew

It sounds like you are selecting a workout.

If you just want to walk then you need to do a free run by selecting a course from a world.

Do you mean your avatar on screen is running when you are walking on your treadmill?

2 Likes

Hi Stuart,

Thanks for your advice. I selected a world route - Duchy Estate in Harrogate - and that worked very well. I had a very pleasant 30-minute walk.

This is an excellent way of getting the exercise I need.

Best wishes,
Andrew

3 Likes

Great news. Enjoy racking up the miles and earning rewards.

Stuart, Iā€™m going to suggest that someone at Zwift also have a very, very long hard think about the canned blurbs from the Pace Riders that suggest people ignore pain.

My partner works in orthopedics. When they saw that the first time, they said ā€œI can only imagine how many eager lawyers are reading that.ā€

Zwift should not be telling users to ignore pain.

1 Like

Wow, is that the world we live in where somebody could take a lawsuit out based on that?

If so thatā€™s really sad.

Itā€™s supposed to be a motivational point to try and focus away from fatigue and concentrate on form.

Nobody has told Jens Voigt that ā€œshut up legsā€ could land him in a courtroom.

If the text came up and said ā€˜go run in front of a busā€™ i wouldnā€™t.

For me pain isnā€™t necessarily a sign that if i continue Iā€™m going to cause an injury. If so Iā€™d never run or ride again.

3 Likes