Zwift Hills not very realistic

I am new to Zwift and after trying Sufferfest first, I found Zwift to be much more interactive with the trainer which is what I was looking for. I don’t yet understand all the things that are on or pop up on the screen (especially that orange bar that I first thought was a progress bar on the route, but that isn’t the case) and I’m sure I will over time.
I am having issues with the hill interaction with my trainer (Kickr Snap) and it may have more to do with fine tuning the set up, but I don’t know what more to do yet. The last ride I did this morning it seemed I was going up hill most of the way, was only going 4-6 mph on the inclines most of the way, and seemed to be working harder than I do on my real bike outside. I usually average 13 - 15 mph on most of the miles outside with a hill climb in them. Never have I noticed my speed drop to 4-6 mph for any sustained time like it does on Zwift. In today’s ride I was going uphill for quite awhile then downhill for short times, then back up hill again. I was fighting the magnets in the trainer on the up hills so much I gave up the ride.
I had wanted the hill interaction, but it seems for me it is nothing like the real thing. Is there a way to turn off the hills or find flat routes? I love hills outside and they have never discouraged me to stop a ride, but the Zwift hills seem to be constant and much harder than the real thing. Instead of riding the bike I just seem to be slowly moving the pedals.
Any input you have would be appreciated!

You could set the difficulty slider to 0 and see if that works for you.

Here is a post that could help you understand the slider: Understanding the Trainer Difficulty Slider

1 Like

did you do a spin down? i have the snap, too, and getting to a good spin down was more effort that it would appear to be. i also use zwift spin down at 10 minutes into most of my free-rides – if i don’t do it regularly, there is definitely drift on the realism feel.