Which category for TOUR DE ZWIFT 2020

Hey guys.

I’ve never done a race via Zwift before, this will be my first time. However, I’m a little confused by the category to select, particularly as I don’t want a DQ by ZwiftPower.

I’m 71kg and my last FTP (long FTP test on Zwift) was 186 so I calculate this to be 2.49 W/kg. Would I be okay entering category D as this is between 1-2.4 W/kg

I don’t want to go to category C really as I’ll be at the back, disheartened and not enjoy it.

Thanks.

You should be fine. I would start there and if you find it to slow or not challenging then move to C. Bottom line is enjoy ride.

Have you signed up for zwiftpower yet? They will auto-calculate your category for you using past ride data, even if your past rides aren’t races they are still able to pull information from group rides or other events such as the tour of London if you participated. I would use this as a guide to the category to sign up for so you don’t get DQ’d.

Hi Adam,

To calculate your category it is FTP(w)/weight(kg) so 186w/71kg= 2.62w/kg this is a solid C

Zwift power use 95% of your best 20 in the race same as the FTP test so when you did the FTP test you averaged more than the 186w you averaged 195w because the FTP test take your average power over the 20min then multiply it by 0.95.

Hmmm… I wouldn’t say it’s a solid C as this category is 2.5-3.1 so I’m going to be one of the slowest C category racers. Finishing at the bottom of almost every race in this category I would have thought.

I’ve signed into ZwiftPower and it has no data for me at all. So I guess I’ve never done anything for it to have categorised me. I just don’t want to be stuck at the back racing against myself, which I think will happen in C.