Where is everybody?

Hey Zwifters! I am completely new to Zwift racing, in fact had my first race today, and really did not understand half of what was happening. It was 104km long FUSION ECT Saturday Race, I started in Category D. There were 38 riders at the start, there were 14 riders up the road, I was in a small group a few minutes back. What happened after was mindboggling -

1. people were dropping from the race constantly from the leading group, some of them mere 30-40 km before the finish; I thought their w/kg was above the limit, so maybe there were disqualified, or simply knew they would not be ranked, but it was really strange

2. Eventually, I went to third, and soon after that, all the riders behind me dropped. I finished the race third, all three riders were below the cat. D limit. In Companion app, we are listed as we finished in the race, but on ZwiftPower, I am listed as the winner, and the other two guys are not listed at all. I have no idea why. In fact I am the only finisher listed, I cannot find any details on why the others are not listed. Where is everybody?

I read a lot of the posts here, and can see that the whole racing is a pretty complex environment, but what I have witnessed today left me completely baffled - as if nobody wanted to win, very weird.

Any help you can offer to shed a bit of light on this is highly appreciated!

Take care and ride on!
George

It does look a bit weird. FYI, go the event in Zwiftpower and click on the “LIVE” tab at the top, that’ll at least show you the ZP registered riders who entered. Looks like about half the field quit early, most of those quit by about the halfway (50km) point.

My guess is people looking to ride with a group on a longer ride, the timeslot worked, but they never intended to do the full distance.

This event? https://zwiftpower.com/events.php?zid=2785995