Where do I start?!

Hi guys, I’ve tried Zwift a few times now and whilst I’m enjoying it, I’m not sure I’m doing it correctly. I’m really a beginner ad have started the Pebble Pounder workouts. Apart from needing to take my bike to be properly fitted, I’d like to clarify what is being shown on screen.

When I ride, it shows onscreen that I should peddle faster and then immediately shows the opposite - peddle slower. the same goes for ‘increase your power’, followed again by the opposite. I definitely have a lot to learn but does everyone else have that where it’s constantly telling you to do something and then you do it and on the screen a message appears to do the opposite - such as slow down / speed up etc.

I find it hard to enjoy the ride with so many constant changes. Anyone else have this? Am I missing something?

Thanks

Hi Luna—in workout mode, yes the system will want you to achieve specific cadences (spin faster, spin slower) and power outputs (more power, less power), depending on the workout. It might take some time to get the feel for how much to speed up / slow down / etc to smoothly achieve the desired cadence and / or power.

That said, you can just free ride without doing a workout (open Zwift, select a route but do not go into the training / workouts menu, and just ride). In free ride mode the system won’t tell you anything about cadences or power—just ride your (virtual) bike however you want.

1 Like

Hi,