Pebble Pounder: Power vs Cadence

I am fairly new to Zwift, and after a few rides around Paris and Watopia I decided to try the Pedal Pounder Training Plan… I was a roadie for years, then took a few years away from being on a bike and this past spring I got into mountain biking - I’m looking for something to help get me in better shape through the winter. Anyway… I’ll post my setup below but the issue that I’m having is that while doing the first 2 workouts I’m inconsistent with power vs cadence. For example if the app is telling me to use more power (185K/w) its at a lower cadence ~85rpm… If i pedal faster, it’ll increase the power, but then tell me to slow down the cadence… if I slow down the cadence to the appropriate range, its telling me more power. I don’t understand how to find that balance… Is it a setting or configuration I’m missing somewhere to set a baseline? It just seems like hitting both are unattainable (or does that come with more riding and strength?

As for my setup its probably not ideal, but it works:

• Tacx Vortex Smart Trainer
    Updated firmware and calibrated through the Tacx App, the white line is right in the center.
  • Giant Talon Hardtail bike:
    I’m using a 29" training tire on back, selecting 700x23 during pairing as thats the closest option.
    1x9 drivetrain (front is 32t, rear is 11-42)

Now, I know from the freerides I did my first few days the trainer was adjusting the tension based on the terrain - harder to pedal uphill, easier down, etc, so I was shifting as if I was on the street/trails. I don’t feel that happening during the workouts - I’m guessing thats by design? I’ve tried shifting to find that magical sweet spot but end up staying in 32x11 most of the time, any of the bigger rear gears and my cadence goes way up and power drops, I’ll pretty much do that for the cool-down period

I’m not sure if I’m doing something wrong or should tweak my setup so any advice would be welcome!