What’s to old for pro level performance?

How old is to old to try for cycling at an A level or even the pros?

I am 41. I have not trained hard cardio in many years. I know my potential with vo2 but I am seeing it does not matter due to my age. How many can drop 1800watts on a whim? I don’t want to get a sponsor, lol I am not delusional. It’s just for fun. But I want to make it to the top level because that how I am. I know it’s most likely impossible but is it possible?

Look I get it. I am not a cyclist. I am old. I have been lifting for 20 years. I have not even been outside on a bike in 20 years and I have no idea what it will actually take but is it impossible to come close to A or pro levels at my age?

What would I need to vomit/commit to make it to this level?

Just for fun. What would it take? I am about 175lbs and have some loose fat to loose.

I started at a vo2 max at 1.5 w/kg. I am at 2.1 and I am not trying. I just do cardio to keep the pounds off.

What training would be needed? I am clueless and have no idea.

Thanks for the discussion.

Already too old for (real) pro level numbers (sorry)

Very much it depends but roughly:

Elite level AG:

5-10 years of consistent aerobic conditioning (15+ hours a week)
A good coach
Good genetics

1 Like

VO2max and w/kg are different measurements :slight_smile:

For pro level, you’re looking at around 6 w/kg FTP. So for your current weight, that would mean you need to be able to hold around 477 watts for an hour effort. Sprint wattage won’t be as big a deal, as your sprint won’t matter if you can’t stick with the bunch to the end of the race.

1 Like

Yep to old as I figured. To bad. With my power and vo2 capacity when I was younger it would have been fun. I had this power and much more at 145 lbs at 18 years old.

you still have about 10 years to get stronger so if you enjoy lifting heavy and sprinting then you should lean into it. 1800w is rare

3 Likes