Way too little resistance in event

Hi everyone,

During yesterdays Power Up Training Camp Workout #1: Climb, 21:20h CEST, I felt a significantly reduced resistance from my trainer (Tacx Genius Smart). In hardest gear, I was barely able to reach 250W whilst not surpassing cadence @85rpm. On top of that, the 250W felt like 150W.

When switching off ERG and setting easy incline, the trainer immediately gave me a pretty hefty resistance, and measured wattage doubled almost instantaneously.

Judging from the messages it seemed quite a number of other riders had similar issues. For me, it was the first time to experience this, I should add though that I am relatively new to Zwift so “Dumb user” could well be an answer in my case. :slight_smile:

Any idea what might have been going on here and what I could have done to avoid the situation?

Cheers,

Andreas

Sorry Zwift wasn’t providing the best experience Andreas! Yes we have had a lot of resistance issue cases with various trainers, including some TacX trainers. Has this only happened one time and have you rode since with the game operating resistance normally?

Also have you tried troubleshooting ANT + possible dropout issues? https://support.zwift.com/en_us/my-ant+-signal-is-dropping-(cycling)-SJdW01bHX

Hi Vincent,

Thanks for caring! Yes, this was the first time this happened at the time of writing, but unfortunately now I had the same issues some two hours ago on Power Up Training Camp Workout #3: TT : spinning like mad in ERG-mode to yield only barley the required wattage, and the watts on the screen were way higher than what it felt like. This all in a 52-11 gear setting, max. I can do.

Around 1/3 into the event, I switched into incline mode and this immediately gave me the resistance needed. From all I can tell, the issue seems really be centered around ERG-mode.