Warmup in pen on Strava

I am new to group rides and races on Zwift so I am possibly missing something here, but when I am doing a warmup in the ‘pen’ I get no time/power/cadence/virtual distance data uploaded to Strava. My Strava log starts when the group ride starts, even if I warmed up for 5 mins. Searching through old topics it seems other people are getting these warmups on Strava, am I doing something wrong? Or did it change recently since I started doing group events?

Other ‘Zwift alternatives’ still log these data to Strava. It would be nice if Zwift did this too since it’s a training tool so I want to log my total time training :stuck_out_tongue:

Five minutes is insignificant, esp a warm-up. Zwift records your distance and there’s no distance covered in the pens. You can ride a few minutes longer and just enter the pens last minute if it seems important to you. But Zwift has never recorded that info.

1 Like

Well 5 mins was an example, some warmups are longer, and there could be many in a week. But as you say, just doing it in free ride followed by entering at the last min is fine, I just thought there may have been a way of it being recorded.

I’m sure I recall seeing people riding around with ghost turbo trainers attached to their bike (like you have in the pen, but they were riding around). It was a while ago, haven’t seen it recently. I always assumed that was a warmup being recorded?

Can people please stop offering pathetic work arounds for zwifts many failings. There is no good reason warm up shouldnt be included.

3 Likes

You aren’t covering any distance in the pen. How much credit do you deserve for some random Watts with no distance covered?

Does it really matter if you are not covering distance? You could do a full blow 20 minute w/u and that wouldnt count.
I dont think it is the end of the world not counting effort in the pens but it would be nice if it did.

1 Like