Wahoo Kickr for a weak rider

All, I am a 235lb novice rider with a just tested FTP of only 184.  I currently ride on a Kurt Kinetic trainer + stages power meter.  I had had an ACL tear and reconstruction so my right leg is much weaker than my left, and I’m very out of shape.  So I’m very slow, but getting faster!

I love Zwift.  Unlike group rides I feel no pressure to ‘keep up’ or that I’m slowing people down who want to ride.  Cost is not an issue, and I’m considering a Wahoo Kickr but here is my concern:

At my weight and low power output (235lbs and ~140 watts if I’m just cruising) going up the big hills in zwift is VERY SLOW (3-4 kph).  

FINALLY MY QUESTION: If I had the Wahoo Kickr, would the extremely steep hills have so much resistance that I simply wouldn’t be able to turn the pedals and make it up the hill?  Would I be ruining the Zwift experience that I love on the Kurt Kinetic because I’m not at a level of fitness to appreciate it yet?

What would you recommend?

Everybody starts somewhere. It doesn’t matter where you start, just where you finish. I can’t speak for the Kickr but I have a Tacx Vortex Smart and you will be fine in the hills. I would do the FTP builder plan. It is based on your FTP and will seem easy. You will sweat, loose weight, gain fitness and strength. Ride On

Hi Allen,

Your “specs” are similar to mine.  My wieght is around 235, and currently my FTP is approximately 190+, in addition I am 68!

I use Wahoo Kickr when working out on Zwift and I can honestly say you won’t have any problems on the hills on Watopia or Richmond.

Ride on!

Dave

My girlfriend cycles occasionally on my Neo. She’s not an avid cyclist, with an FTP of just 125. She gets up the hills on both Watopia and Richmond. There should be no reason for you not to be able to on the Kickr.