Very low wattage in high gear

Hi there, im very new to Zwift so im not sure if im doing something wrong or im just weaker than I thought. I have done a few calibration tests but i dont really understand what its doing, surely doing the calibration in different gears will gove you vastly different outcomes? And help with this would be great.

I can be in top gear on a flat section of road and im only hitting around 100W, in addition to this i find it very difficult to sustain those 100W for more than a minute or two. As ive said maybe im just weaker than i thought, but literally everyone on the route im on is twice as fast as me. Does this have something to do with ERG? I have no idea.

As some one who is new to zwift but has been road riding for over 7 years, I have just finished a 10k route that took me 26 minutes to complete, my average wattage over the route was 76W. My friend who is new to all cycling just finished the same route with an average wattage of 170W. Maybe my legs have deteriorated but that seems like a big difference to me.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

hi steven,
as there are many possibilities start by telling us about your set-up.

Assuming you have a smart trainer, a couple of generic responses:

1. Only calibrate with trainer app…DO NOT use the Zwift calibration
  2. Connect the trainer twice: As Power Source and as Controllable

I have the Zwift hub, so I’m guessing the Zwift calibration is the only one I can use?

I have a Zwift hub, with my Trek Domane hooked up to it. Its not much of a setup i know but thats all there really is haha

did you set up your data when you joined Zwift - height, weight etc?

Hi @Steven_Mannering

I had a similar issue. It might be worth reaching out to @Roberto_Viola on this thread here: (I can’t post links I’m afraid, but its this thread)

new-to-zwift-hub-trouble-with-mtb-setup-and-resistance/595553