Trouble with Garmin ANT+ USB stick and iPad

Hi!

I am new to Zwift and I just bought a Garmin USB ANT stick as well as an official USB adapter to my iPad. I thought I just had to plug everything in and start pedaling but when Zwift tells me to start pedal so it can notice my sensors it does not do this.

Is there some kind of step that I might’ve missed? Based on the instruction video on Zwift it is basically just plug and play. Is it not possible with an iPad?

Garmin USB ANT stick: Adaper Garmin USB Ant Stick - Tillbehör Elektronik - Elektronik - Cykeltillbehör

iPad USB adapter: Lightning to USB 3 Camera Adapter - Apple (SE)

Direct connection to iOS devices using ANT is not supported. Basically Zwift on iOS is Bluetooth only.

Your best option is a duel band HRM like the Wahoo Tickr or Garmin Duel.

2 Likes

Okey but is it possible to plug the USB ANT stick into my Macbook? Would that work?

You need a Bluetooth enabled device for a Mac as well.

That is worthless haha.

You can use this ANT+ stick in MacBook.

2 Likes

Gonna try it tomorrow. Thanks! Hopefully it will work. The problem is that I am an amputee using an armbike and only a certain amount of devices works with it.

What is worthless? There are certain realities when it comes to device communication. There is a product called Cable that can bridge the gap as well as the advice Paul gave. CABLEINFO - CABLE - Connect ANT+ to BLE (Bluetooth Low Energy)

1 Like

In my mind I thought I only had to plug the ANT+ USB stick into my iPad and then it would notice my sensors and work without a problem with Zwift. Apparently not…