Total Cycling Noob Erratic Watts

Erase all cycling jargon and pretend you are explaining to a toddler.

I’m new to cycling as a more serious endeavor. I have the Wahoo Kickr, Zwift and a Garmin HR monitor and I’m trying to do one of the beginner training plans.

I know about the FTP test and adjusting the bias. I’ve been trying to research stuff but here is the issue I’m having:

My watts are absolutely everywhere. I will think I’m pedaling smoothly and my watts are up and down and all around. I keep to a pretty steady cadence but I can’t seem to control my watts in any way. I have erg and I’m in a middle gear. Hubby set up the bike and presumably did it correctly. Does anyone have a resource or a good explanation of how to control watts (vs what they are - I get it in theory but I can’t seem to have much success with training or FTP test results when it’s all over the place like this - which may totally be my fault but I need help to remedy because I’m trying to just move legs, not body, and be steady and push and pull and all the stuff I’m reading but it’s still every freakin where!).

I’m not clipped in - does that matter? Would that help? I don’t really like the idea of clips in the wild.

I’m just looking to build fitness - to lose some weight and to be able to keep up with my disabled husband on a bloody hill when we go for rides. We enjoy riding. Not trying to race or like speak racing or anything - just want to smooth out my training.

Thank you!

How much are your W moving around. When on ERG, I see my W moving +/- 10 W instantaneous, averaging around where the ERG is set. For non ERG it depends on the route profile. Same cadence will give way higher W at 10% road gradient, and way lower W at -10% road gradient, than at 0%. Changing gears will allow you to keep approximately same W for same cadence.

I’m trying to hit a target say 110 watts and I’m jumping like 150 to 70 watts and really struggling to hit my targets.