Speed and Power Seems Extremely Low with Wahoo Speed & Cadence Sensor + Unsupported Rollers

Hi there,

This seems to be a common issue so I apologize for yet another topic like this. A quick rundown of my setup:

• TacX Galaxia rollers (which I’ve selected as “unsupported rollers” with 700x29 tires in Zwift - though my actual tires are 700x35).
  • Wahoo Speed and Cadence Sensors (attached to rear wheel and pedal arm respectively)

In-game, I can’t seem to go much more than 5mph and will often max out at 2mph with an average of 80-100 RPM. I think this was giving me somewhere around 10 watts of power or so in-game. Trying some harder tests, even going 120-150 RPM only gives me about 14-20watts maximum.

It seems like the game is accurately picking up how fast I am pedaling (if I look at the in-game avatar, he will be pedaling like crazy while only going 2mph) but not giving me the correct power output.

I’m a complete beginner and have only ridden casually before trying Zwift so, to be fair, I don’t actually know what numbers I should be getting. But it seems that even for a decent amount of effort, I can’t seem to go very far in Zwift. It takes a lot of effort just to go one mile in the game.

Is there some setting I can change either in Zwift or with my setup? I’m not very concerned with getting accurate workout tracking at this point - I just want to be able to use Zwift to get a bit of exercise while indoors and then, later on, I’ll want to look into getting more serious about following a training regimen and tracking things.

Thanks for any help you all can provide!

Daniel, I wonder if this video from very well respected in Zwift community Shane Miller has any information that could help you? It appears that zPower does not correctly calculate your power from speed. Avatar speed in the game is determined entirely by the power which you generate (or which Zwift calculates that you generate from the parameters of your rollers).