Setup Advice

Hi folks,

I am new to Zwift and this training type.

I recently bought a Tacx Neo 2T and it’s great. The only problem is that I don’t really have the right equipment to get the most out of it. I’m using the Tacx software but I am intending to use Zwift. I’m only using my iPhone and although it is a Max it’s really not big enough to get the full feel of videos etc.

I want to move to using it on a television and I reckon an Apple TV 4K will do the trick.

My main problem is this. My pain cave is my garage but it is slightly too far away from house to get a wi-fi signal. I am going to use my iPhone and tether it to Apple TV. That seems fine in terms of working the Apple TV but on videos I’ve been watching the iPhone is also a controller when used with Zwift.

Has anyone out there used Apple TV tethered to iPhone whilst using Zwift?

If it doesn’t work well I will try and find another solution to my wi-fi signal.

Thanks in advance.

I don’t do apple products but Shane Miller (aka gplama) does.
If you google gplama and apple tv you will get a bunch of hits. I don’t know what all he has discussed or discovered but on the zwift podcast he is ALL about the apple tv for zwifting.

Hi Stephen, i would go for a Wifi-Repeater or a Powerlink adapter by the electricity network

Cheers

I would use a Cat7 network cable. It’s the cheapest and best.

Thanks a million Jimmie, I’ll do that. :tumbler_glass:

1 Like

Hi Ben,

My whole house is hard wired for the internet and I have Cat 7 by the mile. :joy::joy:

This would be a good suggestion and had thought of it but the garage is about 40/50 metres away over garden and patios and paths. The patio slabs are concreted in so I can’t get the cable underneath.

Thanks for taking the time to answer. :tumbler_glass:

Ah, OK, didn’t think the garage is so much away fom the house :joy:

If there’s a 2-wire telephone cable there are some VDSL2 solutions.
Otherwise use powerline, I guess you have power in the garage?