Road bike or Touring bike?

Hi, I am a newbie. I am looking for a touring bike. I want to know what the differences are between a touring bike vs road bike. Which one should buy? Thanks

That depends what you are going to be doing with it.

Touring bikes are really designed for longer riders (days) so might have a more upright relaxed geometry and also come with more support for mudguards and panniers etc . Probably not the sort of thing if it’s just for zwift.

So if it’s just for zwift and a bit of outdoor riding road bike would be what you want.

have a read here Road bike vs touring bike: understanding the differences | Cyclingnews

1 Like

What kind of riding are you planning on doing?

Road bikes and touring bikes will both be able to do many of the things most people want a bike to do.

Zwift: Both
Casual riding with friends: Both
Off-road riding: Really neither is well suited, with a slight nod to Touring as it will likely accept wider tires and mudguards for very mild unpaved/gravel roads.
Touring (loading up with bags for full-day or multi-day rides): Touring
Commuting: You can commute on a road bike, but the Touring bike will be better. You can attach more bags, fenders for bad weather, and most commuting isn’t done at fast paces.
Racing: Road
Hard Training: Road (you can train on any bike, but hard workouts will be a better experience on a road bike)
Base Mileage Training (just getting out for a lot of riding at moderate paces): Both

I’d recommend considering what you’re planning on doing with the bike now, but also keep in mind what you might be planning on doing with it later. If you just want to get out and start riding, for example, either will do. But if you have vague plans of touring in the future, or racing in the future, that might help you decide which way to go.