Road bike vs mtb

i come from a road racing background years ago and now do mtb exclusively. I’m new to zwift riding a top fuel 2021 on the kickr core. i use the mtb avatar. i understand the gearing differences between road and mtb but i’m curious if i were to choose a road bike avatar would my speed reflect in the virtual road rides?
If it does, can you have more than one bike in your zwift account or to you need to change that before ride, depending on where you are riding? thanks for any thoughts. owen

Riding a MTB in Zwift on the road does make you slower in game than a road bike for whatever wattage you’re producing. They do have a speed advantage on dirt and gravel, however.

You are also able to switch bikes mid ride. You need to be at a standstill, click the Menu button, and click the Garage. You should be able to switch your bike at that point.

1 Like

Also note that your MTB gearing is most likely much different than a standard road bike and you might find yourself “spinning out” on the flats in Zwift due to a lack of base resistance on the trainer and not having a large enough chain ring on your bike.

Check out Zwiftinsider.com for many posts and articles about the speed of different frames and wheels in Zwift, you can probably find the answer to almost all your questions using the Zwiftinsider search tool on the website.

Hi Owen, welcome to forums.
I mountain bike too but not on Zwift.

Zwift is designed for an indoor trainer and indoor trainers are designed for road bikes.
So, your set up should be some kind of bike that is anything but a MTB.
Your bike frame is just the game controller that allows you to generate a source of power.

Your in game avatar can be on any bike in the game.

In the game, you can ride any bike on any surface but almost all workouts are geared to road riding thus, most MTB riders will be developing base fitness.

You can perform MTB specific drills.