Watts and MTB vs Road bike

Hi,

Despite my age (44) i’m new to cycling (i’ve started in may). I ride a cheap / crappy MTB with 24 gears.

i realized that people with road bikes seems to go faster and climb easier than me. Of course road bikes are way lighter and these people are usally more trained than me but it doesn’t explain everything in my opinion.

i also notice (by checking people rides on Zwift or Strava) than they produce way more watts than me. It looks like i need to cycle like crazy just to go to 200 watts or something whatever gear i use.

So i wonder what are the differences between MTB and road bikes if we talk about power/watts, etc…

Is it easier to climb or go faster with a road bike or, after all, only our legs really matter?

ps: sorry for my poor English,i’m French :wink:

@David_Strappazon, first - no apology needed for your English. This is an international crowd and your English is excellent.

A mountain bike by nature will be slower in the real world because it is heavier, has more rolling resistance, and a larger aerodynamic profile. Zwift is using all that info to generate a virtual speed that you are travelling in-game. Thus for the same power output of two riders of the same weight, the mountain bike will be slower. Just because you ride a mountain bike in real life does not mean you have to configure to ride one in-game. Feel free to strap on the carbon road bike and get the benefit of extra virtual speed and ability to draft for example. What matters for your personal training effect is what your muscles are doing on the bike that is on the trainer, not what depiction it has on in-game. Unless of course you want to ride the MTB course, which will get poorer results on a road bike in-game.