Realistic goals

Hi all. I’m fairly new to Zwift, started this year (Jan 2021) and really love virtual riding. Its been a life-changer in terms of getting regular exercise, which I’ve never kept up before. As a 52 yo, overweight, out of shape male, it couldn’t have come along at a better time. My goal is getting into shape, lose weight, and get strong enough to begin some IRL rides around the world. That’s the dream!

When I started in January, the program estimated a 135 FTP. By March/April, I was up to 195 and I could really sense the progress. VO2 max workouts were no longer a huge struggle. July/August were spent away from the trainer, and since September I’ve been back on the bike regularly. The FTP is now back up to about 165. What is a realistic FTP to strive for? I like the idea of having a goal and having an FTP target. Is 220 for my age and condition realistic? My Fitbit app puts my VO2max in the 35-39 range. Any comments from other’s experience would be appreciated.

It is hard to give you a goal it depends on how fast you want to go.

This article can give you a good idea.

Also look for Joe Friel’s book “fast after 50” or his training bible.

1 Like

Thank you!

I think it’s very difficult to say what you might achieve if you put your mind to it. The snapshot numbers don’t distinguish an unfit athlete from someone who isn’t particularly athletic but has been training. After a year of regular cycling my figures are similar to yours (FTP 185-195 and VO2-max in the upper 30’s, age 66) but I’ve never been particularly athletic and it may be I’m reaching the limits of my genetics and physiology.

I’m happy doing IRL rides of 50-60 miles, as long as I don’t try to go too fast or attack hills, but to do that a bit of endurance training is also good to do.