Real bike differences

I see a lot of analysis about the Zwift virtual bikes, and what is more aero, etc., but how about the real bike on the trainer? I’m fairly new to Zwift, though I am not new to competitive cycling by about 4 decades. I’ve used two different frames on my brand-new Kickr, an older aluminum frame well known in its day for being the ultimate criterium bike, and a newer full carbon frame, which is my current backup road bike. I started with the aluminum, switched to the carbon while I did some maintenance on the aluminum, then put the aluminum back. The bikes are very similar in terms of components, and are set up so that I really can’t tell the difference in fit.

It is very clear to me that the aluminum frame give me about 150-175 more watts at the top end. I simply cannot reach the same levels with the carbon frame. I’ve been at this a long time, so I am quite confident that despite variables like how I’m feeling on a particular day, the power transmission is far more efficient with the aluminum frame. Given this, I’m surprised that this topic does not appear more, given the huge interest in power in general and the uber-analysis of the various frames and wheels available in the game.

I’m interested if others have had the same experience. Thanks.

This is really strange. The way I see how this could happen is if the carbon frame would be fatigued and wouldn’t be able to transfer the power well.

Do you notice any bends on the carbon frame?

makes sense to me, carbon frames should have more flex than a more stiff aluminum frame so power will transfer better on aluminum when fixed to a trainer.

I was under the impression that carbon bikes are stiffer… Although it depends greatly on the quality of both carbon and aluminium that is used for each frame.

The difference still seems unreal. Perhaps you should check the carbon bike for cracks?