Older Riders

As an “older Zwifter” there is not way for me to easily identify my age that is recognizable as I ride a in a workouts or scheduled events. Can we as older riders be identified in a way that we are recognized as we ride against much younger riders? At 84 years young, thank you!!

What do you want to get out of it? Some older riders put their age in their Zwift profile name.

3 Likes

You can give yourself gray hair!

3 Likes

I have thought of this in a slightly different way.

I would like to see grade of rider identified slightly. I am new to zwift and in my first month i have been trying to ride with small groups but I have no clue of their ability. I am approximately 140-160 watts/kg on my rides. It is quiet poor so there are very few riders in my range. I therefore fall off the bike after 40 minutes trying to keep up with groups and feel discouraged when i drop out the back after a few minutes.
So the last week I have given up trying to find groups and just ignore the visuals. I see this ending in my going back to you tubes and just ploughing on without zwift.
Mild colour coding of the name would identify the user watts- age. User choice to hide this or show. I have tried pick up people to see they fly by when they caught up.

If people could see they were similar ability there would be less competition and make more social groups in social rides. Or compete against someone higher grade to push yourself. Slow down to help someone in a lower grade to get over the line. Categories would help the game.

2 Likes

Do you mean 1.4 -1.6 w/kg? This is already displayed on the riders nearby list. However, it doesn’t reflect ones ability. I might be doing a recovery ride at a lower intensity, rather than a full out race effort.

There are group rides for all power abilities, you should be able to find a regular group ride that fits your needs.

2 Likes

Hi Mike - Oops yes- :slight_smile: