New trainer same power

hi, ive got a replacement zumo but no matter what gear im in im struggling to reach 140w at steady 80rpm cadence. im using 8 speed mountain bike with the spacer and wondered apart from me not being a very strong cyclist am i better looking for a 9 speed road bike as zumo made for 9,10,11 speed bikes?

What size is your chainring.
You might be spinning out because MTB are designed to have much lower gear ratios than a road bike.
Smart trainers apply resistance against which the rider can apply force thru the pedals but you may be at the limit for your trainer.
Try to get another bike, any non MTB, and put on the trainer and see if you get more power.

It’s a Carrera vengeance mtb, have no idea what chainring is!!!

I’ve no experience with the zumo (I have a neo), but I did have a MTB on it for months and I had no problem putting out power, except needing more gears in sprints when standing, but that was putting out over 700W.

When you say you are struggling to reach 140W, what is the problem? You are peddling as hard as you can and think the power output should be higher? You are spinning out and need more gears? There is just no resistance no matter the gear you are in?

Have you used another trainer or power meter before, do you have a power output that you think you should be able to do?

I’ve recently changed from my MTB to a road bike and it hasn’t made any difference to my power output at all despite it definitely having higher gears.

The chain ring is your front gears.
Your answers to Dave’s questions will be helpful.

This is all it says

Struggling to reach 100w at a cadence of 85-90.

have u calibrated the trainer

I have yes, via e-training and zwift

But struggling how?