Neighbor complains about home trainer noise

Hello everyone,

my name is David, i’m 44, i live in France and i’m new to Zwift. I’m super happy with my brand new Tacx Flow Smart and really enjoyed my first rides on Zwift.
I live in an appartment and the neighbor downstair complains about the noise. I use my HT in a bedroom. There’s carpet on the floor I also bought a “mat” for HT.

But apparently it’s not enough. I’m thinking about buying something else to reduce the noise (cork, polystyrene, et…) and i’m looking for advices.

I guess i’m not the only one in the case :wink: So if any of you have some ideas or tips, i’d appreciate.

I’d hate to not be able to use my HT anymore :frowning:

Ride on!

David.

Depends whether the problem is noise or vibrations. With noise you really can’t do much about it and Tacx Flow being a wheel-on trainer it is always going to be quite noisy. That’s a fact.
If vibrations are a problem one thing that works well is a rubber mat made to be put underneath washing machines. It’s made of recycled rubber and is usually 15 mm thick and quite heavy. I’ve got one placed between my KICKR and the regular indoor trainer mat you mentioned.

Often, the added bonus of a thick mat like @V_itek_Holubovsky V describes above is it will introduce a little bit of motion, which helps reduce fatigue from being in a static position.

Ok, thanks for your answers. I use a mat for HT but I guess it’s not thick enough. I’d try some rubber mats.

Anyway I’m surprise because like I said I already have 3 layers between the floor and my HT. Also I live in an apartment when the heat comes from the floor, which doesn’t help (the space between my floor and my neighbor’s roof isn’t “full”).